2016 Friends of Education Award Winners 
To kick off American Education Week, the Wausau School District once again honored its outstanding volunteers at a special breakfast. Awards were presented by Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Kathleen Williams, and Board of Education President, Lance Trollop. To view the Program, Click Here.

*Denotes Award Winner

Robert Hughes, *Lt. Todd Baeten, Dr. Kathleen Williams

For volunteering his time to speak with high school students about their rights and responsibilities and creating a positive connection between police and students.

Charlene Kennebeck, Sarah Nienhuis, Kristen Hornby, Lance Trollop (Missing *Amy Cattanach)

For numerous contributions to the Wausau West Music Department, including assistance with costuming for the Master Singers, organizing and fitting dresses for Concert Chorale and chaperoning the Department’s trip to Nashville this past January.

Heidi Merkel, Lance Trollop (Missing *Lisa Gutknecht)

For ten years of dedicated and reliable volunteering in the Horace Mann library and math classroom, providing an invaluable service with her talents and skills for teachers, staff and students.

Michelle Mertes, *Sheryl Goetsch, Chris Nyman

For six years of going above and beyond to help struggling elementary readers at G.D. Jones and securing funding for the school from her employer based on her volunteer time.

Cindy Heiting, *Julie Kobin, Dr. Kathleen Williams

For her six year involvement at Hawthorn Hills, keeping students moving, serving as a representative on the District Title I Parent Involvement Committee, distributing Blessings in a Backpack bags and taking care of the school staff.

Meaghan Lauer, *Bernice Kohlman, Lance Trollop

For being a dedicated volunteer for over six years at Thomas Jefferson, coming in every week throughout the school year to pack Friday Folders, ensuring communication between the school and its families.

Lisa Larson, *Ruth Sazama, Beth Lind, Dr. Kathleen Williams

For working with John Muir students the past 13 years, organizing and teaching a variety of “camp” structures where students learn about tolerance and respect for diversity.

Grace Mikul, *Suzanne Schroeder, Lance Trollop

For valuable volunteer support at Stettin Elementary, in the classroom, PTO and art room, building meaningful relationships with students and providing guidance, correction and affirmation.

Zengler Mechlos Nocco
*Kurt Zengler, Dawn Jameson, Lance Trollop (Missing *Corey Mehlos and *Alec Nocco)

(Kurt Zengler) For volunteering over six years to assist the Mock Trial Team(s) (two years at Wausau West), helping establish a new team and mentoring students onto state competitions.

(Corey Mehlos) For volunteering to help the Wausau West Mock Trial Team advance onto State Competitions after only two years of being established and teaching students how the law works.

(Alec Nocco) For over six years of assisting the Mock Trial Team(s) (two years at Wausau West), helping establish a new team and mentoring students onto state competitions.

Congratulations to all of our Award winners!

Posted by rhagedor On 15 November, 2016 at 10:47 AM